A while back I wrote how my dear friend Lee was undertaking a huge charity challenge by walking from QE Hospital in Birmingham to Horse Guards Parade wearing an NBC suit and carrying a 35lb Bergen. Well he finished this challenge yesterday afternoon along with a few others.

Lee was raising money for two military charities, Troop Aid and Pilgrim Bandits.

I had decided to accompany him on the last stretch in London. Those who know me personally will know what a challenge walking is for me. Walking is a painful and exhausting experience. Despite this I managed to do it, I did it for the fallen and injured service personnel known to me. I encouraged and supported Lee as I did so.

Mid afternoon, with very sore and blistered feet, Lee crossed the finish line. I couldn’t have been prouder of a friend and, as promised, I gave him a hug. I had told him prior to the walk that he could be a sweaty mess but I would still hug him.

There’s still time to donate between £1-5 by SMS. Just text TAPB50 £1-5 to 70070!

