I take a lot of medication. These medications have all sorts of effects, some good and some bad.

I have medication for my bowels. They will help with spasms and other issues associated with Crohns Disease. I have an injection once a week for this too. From time to time I have steroids.

I take medication for neuropathic pain as well as to help with other random pains.

I also take some medication to help stop spasms in my bladder. My bladder didn’t grow with me so to speak. This has resulted in operation similar to prolapse. I won’t go into details but needless to say I’m needing this redoing, 10 years since last op.

I also take hormone tablets to prevent my periods being incredibly heavy and long. My first period was 60 days and I’ve had a diagnosis of endometriosis since, plus polycystic ovarian syndrome. Without these pills, and the Mirena coil plus the Pill, I’d bleed all the time which would mean further discomfort.

I take stomach lining pills to ensure acid reflux doesn’t rear it’s ugly head. I also have asthma inhalers for when that flares, usually winter but this summer has resulted in attacks.

Because I have had a lot of steroids and other reasons my bones are at pre-osteoporosis stage, also known as osteopenia. Once a year I have an infusion (IV) to delay the bones getting to osteoporosis stage.

As for painkillers, I take Temgesic melts. Temgesic is also known as buprenorphine sublingual tablets. In a smaller dose it is also used for opiate withdrawal so its very dangerous for me to have morphine, tramadol and fentanyl. Temgesic is at the top end of the painkiller chart, so to speak. The only drug higher that can be used is ketamine.

So if you see me taking medications I will gladly explain what each one does and how it affects me.

I have to live around my medication, planning it all out timing wise. I have to make sure I don’t take certain pills after a set time. Some have to be taken an hour before bed.

Thank goodness I don’t have to pay for prescriptions! I’ve worked it out that I’d have to pay around £85+ a week, lots of money.

