Last night one of the people who tweets from the Twitter Crohnie Club account, @TwitCrohnieClub, asked three questions relating to having Crohn’s Disease. I thought, rather than tweeting the answers, I would blog my replies!  So here goes……

 

HOW DIFFERENT A PERSON WOULD YOU BE IF YOU DIDN’T HAVE CROHN’S?

I would be a very different person if I did not have Crohn’s. I would still be working within a government department wondering whether I was one of the one’s being made redundant in the latest line of cuts. I would still be going out getting drunk as often as possible not worrying what people thought of me getting so drunk all the time. I would still be getting used as a doormat by certain people from my past. I would not have to plan my day around medication, hospital appointments and toilets. I doubt I would be as strong a person as I am now. I have changed massively because of Crohn’s, some parts of my life have been completely changed and others changed a small bit.

 

DID BEING DIAGNOSED WITH CROHN’S CHANGE YOU AS A PERSON? PERSONALITY WISE?

Dramatically, I am so different personality wise now to how I was prior to diagnosis. I resented my body for causing this chronic illness, for making me need life saving surgery to remove bowel. I have, and some may be a little shocked here, become a lot more reserved. I am not as outgoing as I used to be. I have found, due to steroids making me put on 3-4stone, I have lost my confidence too. I do not consider myself as attractive any more, I used to like what I saw in the mirror you know? I have also, thanks to oral Morphine (oramorph – a syrup containing strong opiate painkillers), lost a couple of teeth. I am a shadow of my former self, personality wise. Privately I worry I will never find someone to love me and not be frightened of my illnesses various. I mean, who would want a 12 stone scarred and toothless woman? Not many am sure.

 

IF YOU COULD TAKE ANYTHING POSITIVE OUT OF HAVING CROHN’S, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

I have found several things positive out of having Crohn’s Disease. I know my body better know than ever and no my limits when it comes to certain aspects of life. I have met, and am meeting, some amazing people (roll on the 17th) because of this disease who understand what I am going through despite the fact everyone experiences CD (and other bowel diseases) differently. Above all of this, I have discovered what the best ever toilet roll is – Andrex of course!

 

So there we go, I hope this has enlightened you all.

Until next time xxxxxxxx

 

 

