I seem to have the majority of my HS ‘moments’ in my groin area and although I o suffer from it in other areas this area seems to affected the most. The 1st op site (20th May) was on my bikini line (left). The 2nd op site (29th June) was at the top of my right inner thigh close to my genitals. This new ‘abscess’ is on what is known as the mons pubis.

Over the past week or so the new ‘abscess’ on my mons pubis (look it up if you do not already know) has grown and become more tender to the touch as well as being sore when moving round sometimes.

On Friday night I could not sleep for love or money. I think it was a combination of worrying about my health and worrying whether my benefits were going to be in my account the following day. As I was up I was able to clarify the bank matter online, thank goodness for online banking! There is some seriously bizarre television programmes on at night, and no I am not talking about the Adult channels! I also spoke with someone, on Twitter, in America who also has Crohns Disease like me and many others I speak with. By 7am I was bored so went off for a walk to the garage to get some necessities and some croissants for breakfast, well every girl needs a treat now and again.

By that afternoon I decided I was going to go up to the hospital to have this ‘abscess’ checked out by the surgical team having already been referred by my own GP the day before. Despite the fact I was with GP at the time of referral it would appear said referral was lost in the system because I was told at Reception I would have to see one of the Out Of Hours GPs, or OOH GPs as I call them.

The doctor I saw was lovely and was genuinely concerned at my declining health. She ushered me through the Minors waiting area where I was to be seen by one of the on call Surgical doctors.

After what felt like a 6 hour wait, it was actually just over 90 minutes in all honesty, I was called through by one of the nurses. Blood tests and cannula insertion time as well as my obs being taken. The nurse was taken aback slightly when the BP reading was 95/56, I did explain to her I have low blood pressure normally.

Just as I was about to leave the cubicle the surgeon appeared, to my delight it was the same surgeon who had operated on me twice in the past 7 weeks. He is a charming man with a great sense of humour, everything a surgeon should be really. And no do not panic, I have not gone straight it was merely an observation.

He examined me, with the nurse as a chaperone, and then proceeded to explain that this was not an abscess as yet. It was in fact a sebaceous cyst that was transforming into an abscess slowly. However, during this transformation the cyst could burst on it’s own accord meaning no further treatment or operations are required. I shall explain sebaceous cysts a bit later on. The surgeon has said that if the cyst has grown by Monday afternoon or gets more painful then he will be happy to reassess the situation with the view that I may need an operation. Either way I shall be pleased to get rid of this little bugger as it is rather annoying plus he has said if I was to have an op then he would lance the others (I have 3 large cysts/abscesses on genitals as well at the moment) whilst I am under the anaesthetic. So, it was back home for me with my tail firmly between my legs. I have to admit I did feel a little foolish, I know this was wrong to feel that way dear reader.

The blood tests I had yesterday were all normal for me (Crohns etc) except for the white cell count being high. It was blatantly obvious my body was fighting against the massive load of infections I have at the moment. Good old body for once it is trying to fight it!

Tomorrow I am having yet more blood tests, this time at my GPs surgery. They are testing for Lupus and Rheumatoid Arthritis. The doctor would like to either rule both of these conditions out or see whether one of them is causing me stiffness in my lower skeleton.

I have added a few more links for you, all are brilliant sites that I read on a frequent basis. One is www.foulbowel.com, a website belonging to the author of Foul Bowel – John Bradley. Another is a blog by a fellow Crohny who I follow on Twitter Lee, http://facadephoto.wordpress.com – it is a thought provoking and inspiring blog. And finally, the blog I guestblogged for http://themodstolemyboyfriend.wordpress.com which is eloquently written by an intelligent young woman about her boyfriend being away with the Army.

I am now going to give two definitions of a couple of different types of cysts.

SEBACEOUS CYSTS

Sebaceous cysts are filled with a semi-solid material known as sebum, they are also similar to Epidermoid Cysts (please see below).

They are caused by blocked sebaceous glands, swollen hair follicles and excessive testerone levels.

Sebaceous cysts often do not require medical treatment. However, if they become infected by bacteria they can become unsightly and rather painful.

Surgical incision of such a cyst is a fairly basic procedure under general anaesthetic. The surgeon will remove the fluid sac and any remaining sebum. The 3 approaches would be  punch biopsy; wide or minimal excision.

However, if the cyst is not infected then the doctor may choose to lance the area with a view to drain out sebum.

Either way the patient will require antiseptic ribbon packing and/or dressings changed by their Practice Nurse.

There is a non-surgical way in which sebum can be encouraged to come out. This is done by placing a heat pad or hot compress on the affected area for about 15 minutes for up to 10 days, this is dependent on size as well as location of the cyst.

EPIDERMOID CYSTS

Like sebaceous cysts, Epidermoid Cysts are found on the skin and is a benign mass. It forms out of the ectodermal tissue. Histologically it is made from a thin layer of squamous epithelium. They can be infected by bacteria and form a pimple like shape.

With epidermoid cysts the patient will either be free of symptoms or it will be painful to the touch. It can release pus and it is also common for females to find these cysts on their genital region.

These cysts can be removed by excision under a general anaesthetic, or if caught earlier enough lanced. Often a hydrogen peroxide gel will help to dry the cyst out.

I would like to ask any of my readers to consider writing a guest blog for me. It does not have to be health related, it could be to do with charity work or even something that is close to your heart or something you are passionate about. If you fancy giving it a go and writing a guest blog then please get in touch.

For now, please take care and keep as well as possible!

Lots of love, Marmite xxxxx

